Our building is open, but you must call or email for an appointment for services.

Our building is open, but you must call or email for an appointment for services.

June 1, 2020

Please be advised that our building is now open for in-person services, but through appointment only. To make an appointment for any staff, please call our main line at 204-857-6304 or email info@pllc.ca. If you prefer, you can contact each program directly through the information found below.

We continue to follow government directives and you will be asked a few screening questions prior to entering our building and also asked to use hand sanitizers and respect physical distancing requirements (remain at least 6 feet or 2 metres away from other individuals) at all times.

All PLLC staff continue to be available to answer questions and provide services via email, phone, and/or on-line chat, as needed. Students in all classes (Mature Grade 12, Adult Literacy, and ESL) will continue to study and work from home through online platforms and learning materials provided by their teachers. Students may make arrangements to meet with their teachers and work in the classrooms, as long as all COVID-19 health and safety requirements are followed.

For questions about Mature Grade 12 & Adult Literacy, please contact Laurie at laurie@pllc.ca or 204-857-6304 ext. 222. For all other questions, please contact Cathy at cathy@pllc.ca or 204-857-6304 ext. 224. You can also contact any staff below for more information or services from each program.

To access services through the programs, please contact the following staff:

Employment Assistance Services – For resume and cover letter development, employment counselling, job search and interview tips, please email Claire at claire@pllc.ca and/or call 204-857-6304 ext. 223. Print-out services are available for pick up, if pre-arranged with PLLC staff.

Portage Work Experience Program – To apply to be a participant in the next cohort starting in June 2020 (subject to change), to register to be an employer for the program, or if you have any questions about the program, please contact Laura at laura@pllc.ca or call 204-857-6304 ext. 267 to leave a message.

Newcomer Settlement Services – To receive assistance and services from our settlement staff, including Miriam, Mostafa, Seyoum, Lorna, and Maria, please email settlement@pllc.ca or contact them directly at miriam@pllc.ca, mostafa@pllc.ca, seyoum@pllc.ca, lorna@pllc.ca, and maria@pllc.ca. You can also phone to speak to staff by calling 204-857-6304 ext. 268 or 229. Drop-off and pick-up services of printed documents at the PLLC can be arranged through staff.

Community Volunteer Income Tax Program – We will continue to offer tax filing through drop-off services. Please print the Drop Off Sheet (fillable) by clicking on the link, pick one up at the PLLC front door, or email Mia at mia@pllc.ca to receive a copy through email. Once completed, you can drop off the form with your tax documents in the drop-off box inside the front door of the PLLC. Your taxes will be filed for you using U-File and you will be contacted when your documents are available for pick up from the PLLC.

Thank you for your understanding and for working with us to help keep everyone healthy and safe.